Continued Presence

From the first post that I wrote in January 2010, I fell in love with the blogging community; specifically I find the World of Warcraft blogging community is spectacularly warm and welcoming. I have recently been thinking about my relationship with World of Warcraft and try as I might, I cannot find the appropriate interest that is enough to keep me playing. Even in my boredest moments, WoW is not something that I want to turn to to occupy my time anymore.

I wonder sometimes why it is and I still can’t pinpoint any particular reason. I know that leveling isn’t as fun, I have a lot of problems with the experience gains and linear questing style even though I love the phasing. I wish that we could fix the experience gains for things like mining and herbing without effecting our other avenues like questing or instancing;  I don’t even like the speed of questing when it is combined with guild perks and heirlooms, I pass so much it is no longer worth it and I far surpass my gathering professions in a zone or I leave all the quests behind.

I love all the people in my guild and I love all the friends I have made in the community but I don’t like the direction that Cataclysm took the game, I lost a lot of interest and I can’t continue. I know that there are several other bloggers who are retiring from the game and some I am still glad that I can stay connected with outside the WoW blogging community.

This post from Anna really helped to express a couple of the thoughts that I was having about the questing progression…

I’ve now completed Vashj’ir, Hyjal, and Deepholm, and in each one I was coming into a situation not as a subordinate helping a greater group but as a savior bailing out an inept group who couldn’t do it without ME.

I was THE CHOSEN ONE. I SAVED THE WORLD. There are PROPHECIES about me. I’ve single-handedly turned the tides of war and bailed out various groups who screwed it up or couldn’t hack it in the first place.

There are more great community members like Jaedia and Qeith. Anna also has another post or two that holds significant meaning to me right now.

But with all that said, I don’t want to leave the community, I don’t want to leave all the friends that I have made behind so I have decided to partake on the task (fun task btw!) of having a personal book blog. Within Pages is a place for all things books including reviews, events, book tours, book swaps, etc. Please, I would LOVE to see you over there and I am VERY excited about taking part in an extended blogging community. And yes, I will still be on twitter and yes you can still email me at tarinae (@) gmail dot com!

I know I have mentioned this but I LOVE YOU ALL!

Thank you for everything and I hope that you continue to join me for the rest of my blogging adventure over at WP.

5 Comments

Filed under Blogging

5 responses to “Continued Presence

  1. Aw, sad to hear you’re closing up shop.. I’ll look forward to reading your new blog though 🙂

  2. FeroChampion

    Well, I guees I got here too late, I just started my first Pally and have gravitated over to healing (mostly in PvP) and it is a blast. I am about to go into Cata and maybe do my first heroics ever. Maybe some of the old WoW community can meet up with us noobs in the new Diablo in Dec…

  3. I also got here too late, but I found the last post interesting. I think there’s a logical progression with regard to the heroic feel in Cataclysm.

    Up to and including WOTLK, we were part of a huge group of people involved in helping defend the realms. We took part in battles that were led by legendary heroes and became part of the forces they commanded.

    This all changes with the fall of the Lich King. We became the heroes. We are the legendary figures in the adventures, and is it not appropriate for Kingslayers to be looked at with a sense of relief and awe? The response of “Thank goodness you’ve arrived, with you here we know everything will be OK,” makes sense to me.

    • I agree, someone as heroic as “X character” has the right to be recognized in the world they live in, as a Kingslayer everyone would know there name. But that isn’t how it is implemented. These people are happy to see my lvl 80 just getting her feet wet like she is the prophetic angel. Over and over. That is more towards to the idea of what I was getting at.

Leave a comment