Tuesday with Tarinae 5/11

Good morning, good morning Azerthotian Blog-Goers! How are you today? I am trying to make the best of a day I have been very anxious about for a few weeks, my first field trip for the kids at work! I am not relieved by the relaxation of getting to come home and play WoW tonight either…

Player Strains

  • I won’t get to play much at all this week in fact, this makes me very sad. My family (mom, dad, teh baby sis) are coming in to visit for a late Mother’s Day and spending a 3-Day weekend here. That rules out the weekend…until then…I have a non-mother-worthy house to clean after work. On top of this…!
  • On Thursday, we are wiping my entire harddrive and re-installing the OS. I have Windows Vista 64-bit and have, yet again, been having “unexpected shutdowns” and booting problems. I had these about a month ago with some intermittent BSODs so hopefully instead of a bandaid this time, we will cast Redemption and all will be well!

Anea’s Game!

Being a D&D player on Monday nights, I missed this last night but my reader had some of them so I thought I would join in!

The Horde visit Stormwind!

Here we come a’caroling, among the leaves so green!

Here we come a wand’ring, So fair to be seen.

The Vocalists

Other bloggers that have jumped in on it:

Patch 3.3.5

Oh yeah, it is up and available on the PTR now. The patch notes are fairly small!

  • The Ruby Sanctum, an all-new 10- and 25-player raid featuring normal and Heroic difficulties, is now available for testing! Players will find the dungeon entrance below Wyrmrest Temple in Dragonblight.
  • Chat Frame
    • Players can now right-click on any chat type (Whisper, Trade, General, Party, Raid, etc.) and choose the Pop Out Chat option. This will move that chat type to a separate tab in the Chat frame which can be undocked and moved anywhere on the screen.
      • Using the Pop Out Chat option on a Whisper will place the conversation with that player in a separate tab.
      • Any time a conversation with another player is put into its own tab, the tab will glow when a new message is received.
    • Hovering over the Chat Frame and using the mouse wheel will allow players to scroll through chat text.
    • Players can select Classic Mode under Interface Options to keep the Chat Frame functionality closer to what it was prior to patch 3.3.5.
    • The Simple Chat User Interface option has been removed.
  • Friends List
    • A new icon has been added to the top left of the Chat Frame which will open up the Friends list.
    • In addition to its current functionality, the Friends List will now allow players to add Battle.net accounts (Real ID). Players will have to confirm that they are friends in order for a Real ID to be added. Once Real ID friends, players can communicate cross-game, cross-faction and cross-realm.
    • A new Pending tab has been added where players can accept or decline a Real ID friend request, or select the Report Spam or Block Communications buttons.
    • Players can now select from three statuses which will be visible to their friends: Available, Away and Busy.
    • A Broadcast window has been added to the top of the frame. Players can use this to broadcast a message to all of their Real ID friends online. This message will also be displayed under the broadcaster’s Real ID information in each friend’s list.

I’m pretty sure I have already expressed how I feel about RealID. The ‘Mental Shaman expresses her thoughts as well.

My thought is the lack of privacy and security. I am going to share a quote from teh shaman:

If you have noth­ing to fear, have never been stalked or har­assed online, have never been hacked or had credit card details stolen, you’re very very lucky. The more inform­a­tion that you give out, the more pos­sib­il­ity there is for it. Don’t dis­miss people with pri­vacy con­cerns as being para­noid just because you’re not wor­ried. They might actu­ally have a point.

I have had my wow account hacked, there was nothing on my computer but I played on some friends/family computers to make it unsafe…but even more…I have had my PayPal account stolen and REAL money was charged and overdrafted to my debit card. I had not even been on paypal in over a year, I used it twice while in college to buy books. You wanna know what they bought? Aion. It was a horrible experience and I take my security very serious.

Even if it is a game, and much like facebook, I can choose to add them or whatever, I should be able to set things like a display name instead of first and last. I should be able to add characters to a visible list, etc. And I’m sorry, until the ability to hide particular characters from the list is available, I won’t use Real ID. The people who really want to find me in game have my number but that secret alt is secret for a reason.

Oops!

Now that that has turned into a mini post, I think I will wrap this up. I share this screenshot with you guys as a wallpaper, perfect for 1680×1050. It is no where near as epic as Angelya’s but all the same 🙂

Good luck this week in game, may you get your weeklies done with the slightest of ease and defeat that Tyrant of the Scourge!

7 Comments

Filed under Patches & X-Packs, Tuesday with Tarinae

7 responses to “Tuesday with Tarinae 5/11

  1. I won’t be using Real ID at all. I’m not so much worried about my “secret alts” being outed – but my battle.net e-mail (my LOGIN!) and my real name. If you wanna IM me, look, there’s a google chat for that. Works on any toon. Magic.

  2. Caroling! What a fun expedition – I never would have thought to go caroling in other faction’s cities (or even around them).

    Also, LOVE that screenshot/wallpaper.

  3. Caroling looks like seriously great fun 😀 What a great idea!

    Btw your screenie of Crystalsong is gorgeous… it’s such a beautiful zone, it just begs for the snapshots 🙂

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Tuesday with Tarinae 5/11 « A Healadin's Tear -- Topsy.com

  5. Modunor

    I just found your blog, and wanted to say hi. My main is a healadin/protadin and I’m always on the prowl for more paladin related sites.

  6. Pingback: Beneath Two Skies » Blog Archive » Budget Fun: Song Lyric Screenshot

  7. Pingback: Screenshots + Lyrics = Fun « Ethermead

Leave a Reply

