Paladin Mastery Specs

Notice: This post is out of date; click here for updated information.

So in my Paladin Preview, I didn’t realize until just now that I failed to include the mastery talents. How I managed to pull that off, I will never know; but for your reading pleasure & knowledge, here they are!

Mastery Passive Talent Tree Bonuses

Holy: Healin/Meditation/Critical Healing Effect

Protection: Damage Reduction/Vengeance/Block Amount

Retribution: Melee Damage/Melee Critical Damage/Holy Damage

Meditation: This is the spirit-to-mana conversion that the priest, druid, and shaman healers also share.

Given the mana mechanics that will be changing, this is a necessary talent. I feel that it should be a passive mechanic; built into the class/spec, not a mastery spec. Perhaps this is to eliminate other paladin specs from utilizing this change but they are not going to take gear with spirit anyways.

Vengeance: This is the damage-received-to-attack-power conversion that all tanks share.

Critical Healing Effect: When the paladin gets a crit on a heal, it will heal for more.

Assuming that the build will not change in base make-up, this could be a very viable attribute to the “critadin” healing spec (See my armory page). Not only will you crit often, but hard! That sounds really….dirty.

Block Amount: We want to keep the kit of the paladin as a tank who blocks a lot. So by contrast, the warrior tank will sometimes get critical blocks, but the paladin will absorb more damage with normal blocks.

I am not a shield using tank by any means (I tank on four legs, if you remember) so I am not entirely sure how this will change the current block mechanic. The idea of a critical block seems confusing. The change set for the paladin blocks though, will help the healers out considerably.

Holy Damage: Any attack that does Holy damage will have its damage increased.

Unlike mages, THIS talent will simply give you a damage bonus. You are not required to do ANYTHING except your normal rotation and you’re going to see an output increase. omgretpalliesaresoophaveyouseendivinestorm? 🙂

Overall, I think the mastery changes are great addition to a stable hybrid class but a little boring to say the least. Entirely more useful than that of an Arcane Mage but there is nothing quite as cool as shadow orbs floating around our priest comrades. I am also really sorry that I failed to include this on my preview but here it is and I hope it is still helpful.

Source: Blue Post

Leave a comment

Filed under Patches & X-Packs

Leave a comment