Love is NOT in the Air

The month of February is chocked full of holiday events. It is the only month in-game that is 75% holiday celebration. But you can feel free to scratch that celebration part. Now, in my heart of hearts, February is a month of mourning.

One of my favorite things to do in game with my boyfriend is holiday events. We had our violet proto drakes as soon as Brewfest rolled around in 2009. Even before achievements existed it was just something we did together. Kissing revelers under mistletoe, stealing fire from the alliance that didn’t burn through our backpacks, having a baby orc that picks his nose follow us around, and even try to gussy up and kiss abominations in Undercity…you know, normal, every-day stuff.

So we roll around and do every holiday the way it is supposed to be done and have a blast doing it. As achievements change and they want you to stay intrigued they also start to add holidays and change the way some are done. I give props to the new holiday Pilgrim’s Bounty; it was a blast and made a difficult profession simple to level. I also have no problem with the way they changed Noble Garden, making it last a couple weeks instead of 1 day of nothing.

However…

I detest what they have done with Love is in the Air (February 7 – February 20). The thing that I dislike about WoW the most is farming. I don’t have the patience to do it. I buy mats, I horde what I do mine/skin/etc. That may even be part of why I like holidays so much, it breaks up the monotony of the same-thing-day-after-day feeling. But what have they done? They have gone and made Love is in the Air a farming expedition. I don’t want to whine, rant, and rave but I do want to know why. What was so wrong about the way it was done? Sure, it left your achievements to chance but it encouraged you to do what you were supposed to…kiss the guards! Once an hour, every hour.

But let us take a look at one achievement that was drastically changed and analyze what it means now: [Charming]. Previously, the achievement was called [Heartmender] and required you to mend the broken hearts of 20 people. Given that you can no longer kiss the guards to become heartbroken, the achievement no longer exists. The new object of the achievement is to create 12 Lovely Charm Bracelets. After getting everything you need to do the quest (Lovely Charm Collector’s Kit)you have to go about Azeroth, killing things that would grant you experience/honor (new rule: it also has to be a lootable kill). It takes 10 Lovely Charms to make a bracelet, so you have to have a told of 120 charms and they are not 100% drops. When the event started, there was an exploit that allowed players to kill dwarves in Ulduar with siege vehicles and receive around 400 charms in 30 minutes, that was quickly hot-fixed. As those mobs are not lootable, the instilled the new rule stated above.

That left me in a very bad place; all my friends had done the Ulduar trick…even my boyfriend did it while I was asleep. So I was stuck, on my mage, trying to find a place with quick respawns, still would grant experience, and had a mass number of mobs. I flew all over Azeroth for an hour trying the Inventor’s Library in Storm Peaks (Mobs were to spread out and slow to spawn), I tried killing wolvar in Sholazar Basin (they didn’t drop anything), and before I knew about the hot-fix I even earned the achievement [Dwarfageddon (25 Player)] in Ulduar! I finally settled (and in a very bad mood) outside Wyrmrest Temple killing revenants; even there, the achievement took around two hours.

I was not in a very good mood after that; it is even more of a damper that they have added this new boss into my favorite low level dungeon and I haven’t heard of a single mount drop. This spectacular mount that looks awesome (should you love the color pink like I do) is apparently very elusive.

This boss also drops a pet that is similar to the Disgusting Oozling. You can also find yourself with a new epic iLvl226 necklace for any class and spec.

Most of the other achievements, if not all, have remained the same. However, everything is no longer soulbound, and because of that, it has driven the market into a frenzy. Love Rockets on Durotan for 10g each! 10 Rose pedals on Shadow Council for 45g! Buttermilk Delights for over 50g on a “good” day! The economy doesn’t know what it is going on! I hate to say it but Love is in the Air has been turned into Valentine’s Day…just another consumer driven must-have-celebration.

The end of that rant brings me to the fact that February shares not only Love is in the Air but also Lunar Festival (February 14 – March 6). I am glad to say that this holiday seems to remain 100% the same. Aside from hating the holiday in general, you still do the same quests, kill the same boss, spend the same amount of time fussing over the Elders and traveling around Azeroth. Some people love this holiday, not sure why as I can’t stand it, but with nothing changing, I don’t have to do it on Tarinae! If you haven’t got the chance to start your work on it, and hope that you can make a continuation from last year…you should brace yourself for the fact that achievement progress has been erased. Everyone I know that was close to being finished has to restart the whole process and we haven’t been able to find an explanation on why. But I wish you the best of luck. Wowhead has merged all the elder’s locations onto a single map here on their Lunar Festival Guide. I think you will find it most helpful!

When all is said and done, I am still “the Love Fool” on all my characters (well, I’m still working on my hunter) and will probably get one more to “Elder” status because that is just what I do. But I think my voice matters, my opinion counts for something…maybe. It is important to note here, that throughout all of Love is in the Air, I still had the most fun with the Secret Admirer Project…it is a shame you missed it if you did.

11 Comments

Filed under General Warcraft, Holidays

11 responses to “Love is NOT in the Air

  1. The problem is that people wanted it to be less random, so the opposite of less random is apparently daily quests & farming.

  2. I don’t like what they did to Love is in the Air either – it used to be a great Valentine’s holiday, with cards and whoring, I mean flirting with the guards, consoling fellow players by mending broken hearts, it involved candy… and what happened?

    …Love is in the Air has been turned into Valentine’s Day…just another consumer driven must-have-celebration.

    Just as you said. Ugh. Luckily, I had everything done last year, so I don’t have to trifle with all of that business this year. And the whole Charm Debacle? Won’t even comment…

    However, I will say that I do like the rocket that they’ve put in that will drop from the boss in SFK – how AWESOME does that thing look? I’ve not seen it drop on my server either, but hopefully it will be mine :>

  3. Regression

    So are you really that lazy to use the new dungeon finder for a few hours a night to accumulate the 20-25 or so bracelets(counting giving them to the leaders of each city) to do the achievement? I’m a healer, and when they hotfixed the charm box to randomly create one on each monster’s death in parties I got all the charms I needed in a few hours. It took me 3 days of casual playing to get my title…I LOVE the new change to the Holiday.

    • First of all, you don’t need to slander my personal character to get your point across. It is inappropriate and rude.

      I’m glad that you found using the LFG tool to be helpful but what you did over 3 days of casual play, I got done in a couple hours of dedicated play and got it out of the way so that I could spend my romantic holiday with my real life romantic interest instead of engulfed in the video game.

      In addition, it isn’t just about where you get the charms it is simply a complaint that they turned a holiday into something that is like every other aspect of the game. You farm emblems in heroics…now you are farming charms in them. However you got them, it is still the same fact that I don’t like how they changed the holiday.

    • The author wanted to have fun while completing this holiday like last year – if she’s made an effort to complete each and every holiday voluntarily then clearly the time needed isn’t her problem. It’s the way the holiday was changed that is her issue.

      Laziness has nothing to do with it.

  4. paperclip

    Regarding the reset of Lunar Festival achievements, unlike other multi-goal achievements, visiting each elder is a quest. Thus when they reset the holiday quests for the year, they cleared the progress. I can’t remember if candy buckets worked the same way, but I know Blizzard had issues in the past when quests did not reset, and thus you could not aquire new coins. Only partially completed achievements were cleared, so if, for instance, you were not high enough level to chat with Elder Ohanzee last year, you have to travel to all of the dungeons again.

  5. Nutmeg

    From what I could tell your progress on the individual achievements was wiped, but if you finished an achievement then it stuck around. For example, my Elders of the Horde achievement was still there, so I didn’t have to deal with visiting any Horde cities this year. The progress I had made on Elders of Kalimdor, on the other hand, was erased (not that I had made much progress :P).

Leave a Reply

