Tuesday with Tarinae 12/28

First, I want to thank every one of you reading this right now for helping Tuesday with Tarinae be so successful in 2010, this will be the last (TwT) post of the year and I am rapidly approaching my 1 year blogoversary; my first post was the before my birthday, and that is next month!

I know that I have been slacking off on Tuesdays, December is a crazy month with the addition of Cataclysm it was even more insane and I crave some play time. But now, here I am, back to wrap up 2010!

Winter Veil

If you haven’t already, you have approximately three days to pick up your presents from the “Winter Veil Tree” in Orgrimmar or Ironforge. They consist of the same things they always do given your level and the special toy of the year is a MiniZep Controller…I personally, am not a fan; WTB epicness like the Clockwork Rocket Bot.

Upcoming Class Changes

Ghostcrawler recently threw up a blog post about the ideas that the developers had on class changes we are likely to see in the first patch. He gave no indication that the patch would be anytime soon (it doesn’t need to be imho) and he clearly expresses that this is not an exhaustive list, but it is interesting to check it out.

Some highlights include:

Still, we see Survival hunters and Unholy DKs on top of a lot of single target fights. Arcane, Marksman, and Beastmaster damage is too low. Retribution, Shadow, and Fire and Frost mage damage might be too low, but we’re still watching them.

Healing in PvE is working out pretty much as intended. There are some Heroic dungeon bosses that are probably tougher than the required item level average permits. In general, you might have a tough time upon zoning into a Heroic dungeon with a bunch of strangers as soon as Dungeon Finder permits, especially if your group isn’t willing to communicate and work together. We want Heroics to be challenging — if you want to zerg the content, stick to normal dungeons.

For example, the Retribution mastery, Hand of Light, is fun, but it doesn’t contribute enough damage. To make it contribute enough damage, the proc would need a very high chance, which then can cause paladins to devalue other sources of Holy Power. Instead, we are redesigning Retribution mastery to add a percentage of the damage of Templar’s Verdict, Crusader Strike, and Divine Storm as Holy damage (which also plays better with Inquisition).

The comments on healing bring me to the topic that the debate is raging on whether or not heroics SHOULD be hard. By the end of Wrath (and partially due to the introduction of LFD tool) heroics were a faceroll…pwn it with my eyes close…pull the whole damn dungeon. That is a bad idea to put into the minds of QQ-bag players because now, heroics are just that…heroic! Given that a vast majority of people don’t over gear them yet, mechanics like CC & slow pulling should be utilized. But I won’t debate it, there is enough back and forth about it on the forums that I don’t even particularly feel like linking it. I’m not 85 but I’m close enough to start finding where I fit in on this debate as a healer.

Hotfixes

As always you can always get the latest on the hotfixes that are happening but I wanted to highlight one that has been causing a disparity between Alliance and Horde ability to gain Critter Kill Squad.

Graveyard Rats are no longer considered critters and do not give credit toward the Critter Kill Squad guild achievement.

For anyone who doesn’t know what this references, in the Worgen starting zone there is a tunnel of thousands (give or take) rats that were previously listed as critters and with low level AoE’s (only a handful of class options) these were still farmable for the guild achievement even though the Horde had no opportunity for such a massive number like that with such a level of ease.

12 Days of Winter Veil

I wanted to be nice and let you all in on WoW.com’s giveaways for the holiday! I don’t need anymore competition (hehe!) but today’s gift is a SteelSeries Cataclysm Keyboard! All you have to do is be a US or Canada (not Quebec) citizen over 18 and comment on the post! STEELSERIES! /squee

Player Update

In my decision to take leveling to end-game slowly, I still haven’t hit 85 but am pretty close; I have this week off so I will be 85 very soon. I have really enjoyed taking my time and loved questing in both Vash’jir & Deepholm. I complete both quests and Vash’jir is the only zone in which I did EVERY quest. I loved the lore on the World Pillar and found out why Princess Theradras is so ugly! My mage is 82 and my hunter is 81. I have a handful of colorful alts from a troll druid to a worgen mage to a goblin shaman that are all sitting comfortably…except for the goblin who is only Level 8!

With the help of my closest friends, we were able to gift one of the most selfless, nicest, most giving person Vial of the Sands and the enjoyment that she got out of it has made every minute, hour and day of farming worth it. That is what Winter Veil Christmas is all about and it was wonderful to be part of the giving.

While my computer is currently behaving (she knows she is going to have competition) I am headed out to Best Buy later to see if the HP laptop is in stock. I could by the “blue” version or save $50 and buy the EPIC Heroic version, but I am the epic suck at saving money, my job is the epic suck at paying me money to save, and I have been wanting it for months and don’t want to wait!

I hope that all of you had a Merry Chrismahanukwanzaka, whatever it is you celebrate…at the very least Merry Winter Veil and I hope the festivities continue into a Happy New Year!

I will see you in 2011!

2 Comments

Filed under Tuesday with Tarinae

2 responses to “Tuesday with Tarinae 12/28

  1. How did I know that’s what was being made? Guess I’m just
    that good. ;) When I got on the night of Christmas Eve I had a lot
    of fun seeing people in a giving mood in trade chat so I decided to
    join in and give away free enchants (I have 4 bags full of mats,
    gotta use them on something). It was interesting to see that when I
    offered them for free only a very small number of people (usually
    only 1-2) showed any interest at all, but when I sold them an hour
    later for 5g each I had to write down a list of names because the
    requests were coming in too fast. “535 Enchanting, FREE with MY
    mats” *crickets chirping* “535 Enchanting, only 5g, MY mats” *mad
    rush of buyers* There be some crazy folks out there, I tell you.
    Though, there are also awesome friends worthy of great gifts. ;)

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention A new tear has been shed at A Healadin's Tear: Tuesday with Tarinae 12/28: Check it out & Please RT :) -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

