Tuesday with Tarinae 11/16

With the rain and gloom hanging around outside my bedroom window it was pretty hard to get out of bed to write this, especially when it is warm in there and so “brrrr” out here! I could go on and on about the best $30 I ever spent 5 years ago being this amazing “sweatshirt” blanket that says “Don’t fear the Turtle” (ps. Maryland Terrapins!) but I figure I will just skip right t the good stuff I actually got out of bed to talk about!

Insane in the Membrane

Yes, it was explained that insane in the membrane would be gone, not gone, but unattainable after The Shattering given that the reputations would be different and the Shen’Dralar would be gone for good. However, it has been retracted and the objectives have been changed. For those that have already done the Shen’Dralar, you also will get a new Feat of Strength in a patch in the who-knows-when future. Check out full details here on the community site. There was a blue post that started the removal mess but now, given the changes google won’t help me find it.

Authenticators

Rohan and Blessing of Kings recently did a response post to a forum post on thoughts about the authenticator. This is a great time to point out a couple things about authenticators. I have one, it was free and it is on my phone. I thought that would be a little dangerous (my iPhone had already had one restore before that), but not having the extra layer is more dangerous! As a Guild Master, the new guild interface allows us to check mark a box: Requires Authenticator, for you to even have access to the bank as any given rank. I don’t currently have any set that way, but I could see it changing after Cataclysm and our first guild meeting. Also, you don’t have to have an iPhone/Driod, or even order a keyfob now. There is a new Dial-In Authenticator available. It is more freelance and will only require you to call from a SPECIFIC phone if something seems out of the ordinary with your login. If I went that route, set up my cell phone, and wanted to play on my parent’s computer…guess who’s cell doesn’t get service…I think I will pass.

Fire Shall Rain Upon The Earth

The image can be used as a 1600×900 wallpaper.

Phase 4 of the Elemental Invasion has begun and Orgimmar & Thunderbluff are being ravaged by elementals. The evacuation process has begun and if you find yourself unable to survive the horrors, you too can evacuate by visiting the portals in the inn. It is your civil duty as a member of the Horde (andiguessofthealliancegaglol) to defend and protect our cities by placing the barricades and destroying the invaders! Stand close to any rift as you finish its demise for an elemental buff; obtain all 4 (Orgrimmar: Fire & Earth/Thunderbluff: Wind & Watter) for Tripping the Rifts.

When the battle (event) has ended, see the Valley of Honor or the are of the Guild Bank Totem Pole for Boss Portals (2 elements in each city). You will have the chance to queue to fight the bosses we all remember. The bosses that had our lowbie arses for dinner at some point: Crown Princess Theradras of Maraudon (Earth), Kai’ju Gahz’rilla of Zul Farrak (Water), Grand Ambassador Flamelash of Blackrock Depths (Fire), Prince Sarsarun of Ahn’Qiraj (Wind). Each instance has a daily quest that depending on how fast your groups start, you may have to be a ninja to pick up!

Also on a side-note of lore, Prince Sarsarun is a model after the boss that you have to defeat for the legendary Thunderfury quest line!

4.0.3

ZOMG Oh hey, it is a patch. Yes, this patch is dropping today with about 700MB of data. No, this is not The Shattering.

This patch sets the game up for 4.0.3a The Shattering to occur but currently no game changes are happening and no new race/class combos are available.

There is no release date on The Shattering but I am wondering, will they really release it 2 days before a holiday? I hope not, guess who goes out of town for almost 5 days next Wednesday. So that leaves 11/30 which is only a week before the Cataclysm; really, just a week? Or will they surprise us with a random maintenance on like, Thursday?! That is what I am hoping for, but I doubt it.

I certainly am glad that the invasions are lasting more than 1 day, but I don’t want them to last a week either, that could get really annoying.

Random Tisbits & Goodbye

The loot that this event drops is a little less sentitmel and cool than Wrath’s event. Vrykerion, Paul, and myself all agree that “epically cool” > Epicz! I mean when you think about it…Argent Dawn TabardArcanite RipperVAMPIRIC BATLING…versus gear that will be outdated in a month? Yeahhh. Totally.

Also, I am still trying to get a header for this theme, or I may see what else is available. *Puts on thinking cap*

And whether or not you buy the digital download or disc copy, servers will not go live until 12:01 Pacific Time!

And now, the first server up ping is resonating, so go; download the patch and play! Remember the 5 instances per hour when you are farming those bosses in that short time period!

8 Comments

Filed under Patches & X-Packs, Tuesday with Tarinae

8 responses to “Tuesday with Tarinae 11/16

  1. Yeah, I hadn’t thought of that issue with the items, but you’re right. I wore that Argent Dawn tabard for ages on the one character I had who got it, it was just that cool-looking. And I’m still kicking myself for selling my Haunted Memento when I was scrambling for funds to buy epic flying when I hit 77.

    • I had always kept my Haunted Memento that I got during the event but recently, someone threw one at me and I had no idea. I was just going about my business when I was like “Hmm, I’m haunted!”

  2. Yeah, that whole ’5 instances per hour’ thing screwed me up yesterday. I rushed to get as many event bosses done as I could before the OS3D that was on the calendar … then couldn’t enter the raid instance. /sigh

  3. Worth while noting that the Dial-In Auth stuff is continental US only, so anywhere else is not going to work :).

    And though I understand Rohan’s view, I would be devastated if I lost all my toons adn the work gone into them, esp when I can have a soft Authenticator for such a tiny cost! Look on it as insurance if nothing else :)

  4. Jonny

    For the feat of strength for the elemental invasion do u have to have all four buffs at once to get it or can u get two for one event and catch the other two on the next? And is there a order when the events happen like org first and tb when org finished or vise versa?

    • No, you do not have to have them all at the same time, just that you ahd to have them all at some point.

      And as for the order, the events happen at the same time but the problem is most people are in Org when they start and all npc’s including the flight master are gone so they clear Org first to MAKE their way to TB. But technically speaking there is no specific order.

      There is a 1 hour time limit to “win” and you have to “win” to get the boss portals.

  5. Jonny

    Ty very much for the info and your patience I just recently found your page and I have enjoyed the read very much! Your info and opinion on pally heals are spot on as far as I can tell wit my main and I will continue reading as long as u post. :-) again thank you for takin the time to answer my questions.

Leave a Reply

