Recycle A Post: Gylph Analysis

Since the release of 4.0.1, this information is outdated and you can find the current information by clicking here.

In light of Earth Day, Zelmaru has encouraged us to Recycle A Post. I have chosen my glyph analysis. It wasn’t a playful article but was one of my first informational posts for the holy paladin and I got some great tips on how to organize it. I also have received more insight on the use of the glyphs, so I wanted to rework these a little bit based on my expanded noggin! I hope this turns out better than the first one! I will also highlight (in green for Earth Day!) the changes that have been made for those who may have already read the original!

*******

The glyphs I use personally will be marked with **. I certainly hope that this helps people who are having a hard time making the glyph decision.

Majors

Glyph of Holy Light**: This glyph turns your biggest heal (Holy Light) into an Area-of-Effect (AOE) heal. I love this glyph. We are the only healing class that doesn’t have one and therefore are designed as tank/bomb healers (even though raid healing is possible). The glyph heals friendly targets within 8 yards for 10% of the holy light effect. It isn’t a lot but can make topping off the party while healing the tank a cinch. Furthermore, depending on your spec, should you be a HL spammer, this glyph is a must have.  Further analysis results in this glyph being highly valuable for the Valithria Dreamwalker fight. By using the Beacon on the boss, healing others, she also receives splash healing. This is highly recommended for all degrees of PVE healadins.

Glyph of Holy Shock: Coming back to this glyph I have had a change in thought. Holy Shock is a  part of my healing rotation, occasionally it can land for almost 11k with a critical effect. However, it isn’t so integral that 1 second makes much of a difference for my style; it can for others. It can also be paired well with the Libram of Binding Light. This is only recommended for healers who find themselves moving a lot, are dependent on Holy Shock, and have the libram.

Glyph of Flash of Light**: With this glyph your Flash of Light spell has an additional 5% critical strike rating. I no longer stand to feel this is a universal must-have. Today, so many paladins have 30k+ mana pools that mana effieciency doesn’t seem to be a problem, therefore limiting them to the spam of the Holy Light. With that in consideration, Flash of Light is no longer used making this a wasted glyph for some. However, for the PVP healadin, it is all but required as FoL is a central (if not only) focus.

Glyph of Seal of Light**: One of the paladin’s defining abilities is seals+judgements. As a holy paladin, judging to proc the talent Judgements of the Pure is a must! When it increases your spell haste by 15%, why wouldn’t you? Therefore, it is important to use an appropriate seal for healing. This glyph adds an extra 5% healing effect to any spell that you cast; it also has an appropriate counterpart (Glyph of Seal of Wisdom) that reduces mana costs of all spells by 5%. Depending on your heal style and your mana conservation abilities, either one of these glyphs should be required. You are already using a seal…why not get a buff from it? In addition, if you are a constant SoW user, I have been told that switching to glyphed SoL is extremely helpful in the Valithria Dreamwalker fight.

Glyph of Judgement: I know I said that judging as a healadin is important for the haste buff, but that doesn’t mean you need a damage buff to how much damage you are doing with a judgement. It isn’t your job as the healer to do the damage.

Glyph of Cleansing: Without this glyph, Cleanse costs 6% base mana to cast each time; the glyph reduces this by 20%. To show you a little math, I have 30,034 mana but I only have (last I looked) 7449 base mana. It takes (at 6% a cast) 447 mana to cast Cleanse. With the glyph it would take 358. In the grand scheme of things, it is about 1% of my total mana to cleanse. In raids, I run with many other healers who can abolish disease, cleanse, cleanse spirit, decurse, etc. The sole burden of cleansing (or even fights that don’t require cleansing), does not rest on me so much that I should worry about <100 mana cost. ((I am pretty fond of this in-depth analysis!))

Beacon of Light: Even though I do not use this glyph, I would say that it is still useful. A standard cast of Beacon of Light lasts 60 seconds. This glyph adds 30 seconds increasing the buff to a minute and a half. If you find yourself forgetful to re-cast Beacon, I strongly suggest this. However, as it does nothing else and you find you have excellent buff management ((see my addon post for help with Beacon timing in NeedtoKnow)), you may find other glyphs more suitable.

Glyph of Divine Plea: I know that as a holy paladin, you are probably popping Divine Plea every cooldown. But that doesn’t mean this glyph is for you. The reduced damage effect makes this a tank oriented glyph. I have also recently been asked about the efficiency/need to use Divine Plea; is it worth it as a healer? Of course, mana conservation is needed at all levels of healing. As a healer, the glyph is worthless, but try using Divine Plea + Avenging Wrath; this will help mitigate some healing percentage loss. Also, to avoid using this ability as much, utilize Divine Illumination to the best of your cooldown ability!

Glyph of Divinity: Lay on Hands gives the target burst health based on the casting paladin’s health and it also “…restores 1950 mana”. The glyph applies the same mana gain to you as it does the target. 1950 mana is barely over the cost of Holy Light. This glyph may also encourage you to use LoH as a mana regen ability which could later prove to cause a lot of trouble.  There are worse ones to have, but there are significantly better as well.

Minors

Glyph of Blessing of Wisdom**: This increases the buff timer of BoW on yourself making it 30 minutes. This is considerably helpful when running with another paladin who wants Blessing of Might. How? If you cast Greater Blessing of Might on the two of you, you can replace your own with a standard Blessing of Wisdom and still have a 30-minute buff. They can cast Blessing of Kings and everyone is happy. If you are leveling Holy and find your mana bringing a lot of downtime but you buff yourself with Kings, try using this and save some Symbols of Kings at the same time. I personally find this considerably handy as I begin to run with fewer paladins.

Glyph of Blessing of Kings**: Blessing of Kings is the most universal buff we have and unlike BoW, this glyph reduces the mana costs of BoK by 50%. The lowered mana cost can make buffing during a wipe recovery go considerably quicker. There aren’t many minor glyphs to choose from and even though you don’t get much from this, I still recommend it. In addition, when running with druids and making use of the battle resurrections, rebuffing the risen with the least amount of mana use is important. This is highly valuable for those in a progressive raiding guild.

Glyph of the Wise: “Reduces the mana cost of your Seal of Wisdom by 50%”. Even if you had to cast this in combat, it is a onetime deal and you have the buff though you usually buff before combat when you can regain your mana with water. Furthermore, if you don’t even use Seal of Wisdom, this is a useless glyph for you. The argument could be made that one switches from Seal of Light to Seal of Wisdom often, which is unnecessary. You should use the seal that you are glyphed to buff and alternate judgements rather than seals.

Glyph of Lay on Hands**: Get it. Don’t think twice about it. Unlike a reduced Holy Shock CD (1-sec, see above); 5 minutes on your Lay on Hands could make or break a fight. This glyph paired with the talent Improved Lay on Hands reduces the cooldown to 11 minutes.

Glyph of Sense Undead: If you want to waste a glyph slot, don’t do it with this. This could be a helpful leveling glyph while you are in Icecrown but it is not viable for end-game content as it is a damage buff to undead. Okay, I still don’t recommend it but I am going to change my stance that it is worthless. I still put my heart in soul into the 3 that I have but I am also a miner by trade. I NEVER use my Sense Undead ability. But if you do because you can track nothing else, it is okay to have this glyph. I put stock into using the others even if you don’t have mana concerns and especially if you have a higher damage output off-spec but if you want it, go for it.

When you are making the decision to glyph your holy paladin you should always have your play style in consideration. Ask yourself: “What kind of healer am I?” “How is my mana conservation and regen?” “What spells and abilities do I use the most?”  These questions will help you eliminate some of the choices making it an easier decision.

Reworking most of these, I have changed my opinion on some of them but stand strong and steadfast in the use of most of them. I still believe that you need to consider your personal playing style when trying to choose as well as your ability to manage cool-downs and mana.

The original post was written in February so I feel I have grown in writing, in healing, in everything and I hope this republishing helps those that still face this decision!

PS. Feel free to comment and let me know if you agree or disagree.
5 Comments

Filed under Healing Tips, Holy Paladin, Paladin Guides

5 responses to “Recycle A Post: Gylph Analysis

  1. Codi

    Just so you know, your math about the Glyph of Divinity is wrong. The glyph doubles the mana gained by your target and -then- gives you the same amount of mana in return. Thus, your target gets 3900 mana and you get 3900 mana. If you use LoH on -yourself,- you get both mana returns, totaling to 7800 mana. That’s a gain of 5840 mana from the glyph, equaling about ~81 MP5 in a six minute fight. Working around the Forbearance issue isn’t really that hard and it can be a nice burst of healing on yourself for heavy AoE fights, too.

    I would never suggest the Seal of Light glyph to anyone who does any major healing with Holy Light, as the added healing is almost always overheal. This is especially true with how incredible the Seal of Wisdom glyph is. You’ll actually get more extra healing out of the SoW one, as more mana = more casts and less Plea time.

    Some nice thoughts, though. :) I actually use the Sense Undead minor because I never have to buff Kings. LOL

    • Thank you for pointing out my mistake; there is a particular reason I don’t out put much math lol.

      But I have to disagree. I believe that the SoL glyph is beneficial in burst tank healing. Another 5% added to the life-saving heal is pretty hefty. I believe SoW though is extremely handy for those still struggling with mana conservation as a whole or through HL spam.

  2. Pingback: [Holy] Guide to Holy Paladin glyphs : The Daily Paladin

  3. Pingback: Earth Day (Recycled Posts) Recap | Murloc Parliament

  4. Pingback: 4.0.1: Glyph Analysis « A Healadin's Tear

Leave a Reply

